Réseau des Organisations Paysannes et de Producteurs de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (Network of farmers and producers organisations of West Africa) The ROPPA was officially created in July 2000 during a meeting in Cotonou of around 100 peasant leaders mandated by their organisations. It’s a grouping of organisations or “concertation frameworks” of 10 West African countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo). This group is not closed and its medium term ambition is to include farmers organisations from all the countries of the ECOWAS, which represents the real West Africa.